Introduction
Lutein can filter the blue light from phones, computer screens and sunlight, has antioxidant effects, and helps maintain visual function; the human body cannot synthesize it and must obtain it from dark green vegetables or supplements. This article compares 10 lutein products by content, zeaxanthin ratio, and daily cost; esterified lutein labels have been uniformly converted to the actual free-form lutein content.
Based on official website prices, daily cost ranges from NT$9.5 for Sentosa to NT$185 for EatBLISS — nearly a 20-fold difference. If you prefer drinks, consider EatBLISS Dingjingwang; if you prefer a lutein–zeaxanthin compound, consider Daiken Biotech VisioLutein; if daily cost is your priority, consider Sentosa Marigold Extract Softgels.
About the Editor
Who Should Take Lutein
Anyone who looks at screens more than eight hours a day
Working on a computer by day and scrolling your phone after work means your eyes spend most of the day on near screens. This habit is suited to taking lutein as daily care. Choose a once-daily capsule with 10–20 mg — that’s sufficient; you don’t need to start with a high 30 mg dose.
Commuters or exercisers who are often outdoors
Spending long periods outdoors exposes your eyes to more sunlight than indoor life; people who commute by bike or regularly run or hike fall into this group. Sunglasses only block immediate glare; lutein needs to be taken long-term to accumulate in the macula, so people who habitually wear sunglasses are still suitable candidates for supplementation.
People who eat out often and have few vegetables
Bento boxes and buffet-style eateries usually contain small portions of vegetables, while lutein mainly comes from dark green vegetables like spinach, sweet potato leaves, and Chinese kale, so people who eat out a lot often don’t get enough. The lutein in supplements is the same compound as in vegetables, so you can fill the gap with supplements or add one serving of blanched greens each day.
10 Lutein Recommendations
EatBLISS Dingjingwang Marigold Lutein Drink
- Price
- NT$1,480/8 packs, about NT$185 per day
- Lutein
- 28 mg per pack (box labeled as free‑form)
- Zeaxanthin
- Zeaxanthin 5.6 mg, meso‑zeaxanthin 28 mg
- Form
- Liquid drink, 50 ml per pack
- Daily dose
- 1 pack
- Other ingredients
- Cordyceps militaris extract, bilberry extract, aronia extract, vitamins C, E, B12; vegan

Daiken Biotech VisioLutein
- Price
- NT$1,980/30 capsules, about NT$66 per day (1 capsule)
- Lutein
- About 10 mg per capsule (FloraGLO free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- About 2 mg per capsule (ZeaONE)
- Form
- Softgel
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule daily; for extra support, 1 capsule morning and evening
- Other ingredients
- maqui berry, bilberry, astaxanthin, flaxseed oil, vitamin E

Dietician Light Meals My Vision Marigold Lutein
- Price
- NT$1,880/60 capsules, about NT$63 per day (2 capsules)
- Lutein
- 10 mg per 2 capsules (FloraGLO free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- 2 mg per 2 capsules
- Form
- Vegetable capsule
- Daily dose
- 2 capsules
- Other ingredients
- Bilberry extract 160 mg (anthocyanins ≈ 90 mg), Haematococcus pluvialis (astaxanthin 8 mg), black soybean seed coat extract, selenium, zinc

Puritan’s Pride Free-form Lutein 20 mg
- Price
- NT$1,459/120 capsules, about NT$12 per day
- Lutein
- 20 mg per capsule (Lutigold free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- 0.8 mg per capsule
- Form
- Softgel
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule, after a meal
- Other ingredients
- No other functional ingredients

Funai Biotech funcare High-Dose Lutein EX
- Price
- NT$1,580/30 capsules, about NT$53 per day
- Lutein
- 30 mg per capsule (FloraGLO free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- 6 mg per capsule
- Form
- Softgel
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule daily, after meals
- Other ingredients
- Fish oil, Haematococcus pluvialis extract (astaxanthin), bilberry, goji extract, vitamins A, E, B6, B12

Tian Di He Bu Lutein Functional Drink
- Price
- NT$1,099/18 bottles, about NT$61 per bottle
- Lutein
- 8 mg per serving (free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- 5:1 ratio with lutein; milligram amount not listed on the official website
- Form
- Drink, 60 mL per bottle
- Daily dose
- Not stated on the official website
- Other ingredients
- Goji extract, black soybean, blueberry juice, vitamin A, Streptococcus ferment (contains sodium hyaluronate); vegan

Yoho Power Marigold Extract Lutein + Astaxanthin
- Price
- NT$1,380/30 capsules, about NT$46 per day
- Lutein
- 30 mg per capsule (FloraGLO free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- Marigold extract (contains 5% zeaxanthin) 10 mg
- Form
- Softgel
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule, do not exceed 1 per day
- Other ingredients
- Astaxanthin 2 mg, DHA algal oil, rooster comb extract (contains sodium hyaluronate), N-acetyl glucosamine, vitamins A, B1, B2, E, zinc, selenium, copper

Brand’s Jingyan Comprehensive Lutein Tablets EX
- Price
- NT$1,980/60 tablets, about NT$66 per day (2 tablets)
- Lutein
- 5 mg per 2 tablets (FloraGLO free-form)
- Zeaxanthin
- Marigold extract (contains zeaxanthin) 20 mg, zeaxanthin content not specified
- Form
- Tablet
- Daily dose
- 2 tablets, take with water after meals
- Other ingredients
- Blackcurrant extract (contains anthocyanins) 114.4 mg, red algae extract (contains astaxanthin) 105 mg, Vitamin A

DHC Marigold Extract Lutein
- Price
- NT$490/30 capsules, about NT$16 per day
- Lutein
- 16 mg per capsule (marigold extract 80 mg, lutein 20%)
- Zeaxanthin
- Not listed in ingredients
- Form
- Softgel
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule
- Other ingredients
- Blackcurrant extract powder (anthocyanins 35%) 20 mg, vitamin E 13.5 mg

Sentosa Marigold Extract (with Lutein) Complex Soft Capsules
- Price
- NT$950/100 capsules, about NT$9.5 per day
- Lutein
- 30 mg lutein ester per capsule, contains 15 mg lutein (esterified)
- Zeaxanthin
- 1.2 mg per capsule
- Form
- Soft capsule
- Daily dose
- 1 capsule
- Other ingredients
- Fish oil (EPA 16 mg, DHA 10 mg), vitamins A, C, E, zinc, selenium
| Brand | Product name | Price | Lutein content | Daily dose | Other main ingredients |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EatBLISS | Dingjingwang Marigold Lutein Drink (8 packs) | NT$1,480 | 28 mg (free-form) / pack | 1 pack per day | Zeaxanthin 5.6 mg, meso-zeaxanthin, Cordyceps militaris, bilberry |
| Daiken Biotech | VisioLutein (30 capsules) | NT$1,980 | About 10 mg (free-form) / capsule | 1–2 capsules per day | Zeaxanthin about 2 mg, maqui berry, bilberry, astaxanthin |
| Dietician Light Meals | My Vision Marigold Lutein (60 capsules) | NT$1,880 | 10 mg (free-form) / 2 capsules | 2 capsules per day | Zeaxanthin 2 mg, bilberry, astaxanthin, black soybean seed coat |
| Puritan’s Pride | Free-form Lutein 20 mg (120 capsules) | NT$1,459 | 20 mg (free-form) / capsule | 1 capsule per day | Zeaxanthin 0.8 mg |
| Funai Biotech | High-Dose Lutein EX (30 capsules) | NT$1,580 | 30 mg (free-form) / capsule | 1 capsule per day | Zeaxanthin 6 mg, fish oil, astaxanthin, vitamin A |
| Tian Di He Bu | Lutein Functional Drink (60ml×18 bottles) | NT$1,099 | 8 mg (free-form) / serving | Not specified on official site | Zeaxanthin (ratio 5:1), goji, blueberry juice |
| Yoho Power | Marigold Extract Lutein + Astaxanthin (30 capsules) | NT$1,380 | 30 mg (free-form) / capsule | 1 capsule per day | Astaxanthin 2 mg, DHA algal oil, vitamin A |
| Brand’s | Jingyan Comprehensive Lutein Tablets EX (60 tablets) | NT$1,980 | 5 mg (free-form) / 2 tablets | 2 tablets per day | Blackcurrant extract, red algae extract (contains astaxanthin) |
| DHC | Marigold Extract Lutein (30 capsules) | NT$490 | 16 mg (free-form) / capsule | 1 capsule per day | Blackcurrant extract, vitamin E |
| Sentosa | Marigold Extract (with Lutein) Complex Soft Capsules (100 capsules) | NT$950 | 30 mg lutein ester, contains 15 mg lutein / capsule | 1 capsule per day | Zeaxanthin 1.2 mg, fish oil, vitamins A, C, E, zinc |
How to Choose Lutein: Form, Dose and Formula
Convert free form and esterified lutein to the same basis
There are two labeling conventions for lutein. For free-form lutein the label number is the actual lutein amount; esterified lutein has two fatty acids attached and the labeled weight includes those fatty acids. For the most common lutein dipalmitate, the molecular weight is 1045.7 and the lutein portion is 568.9, so esterified lutein labels should be multiplied by about 0.54 to get the actual lutein you consume.
Sentosa’s marigold extract softgel is an example—the official site states each capsule “contains 15 mg lutein, equivalent to 30 mg lutein esters.” Enter the milligram amount and form from the bottle into the converter below to calculate the actual daily lutein intake.
Compare daily dose to the Ministry of Health and Welfare limit
Taiwan’s Ministry of Health and Welfare announced in July 2024 that products made from marigold or tagetes extracts must not exceed 30 mg of total lutein per day; this applies to capsules and beverages (Restrictions on the use of marigold and tagetes as food raw materials). If lutein is added as a food additive (for example in drinks or jellies), the daily limit is 9 mg (Scope and limits of food additive use).
Yoho Power and Funai Biotech each provide 30 mg in a single daily capsule; taking two different lutein products at the same time, or combining a lutein supplement with a multivitamin that contains lutein, can easily exceed the limit.
Check the formula for the zeaxanthin proportion
The macular pigment in the retina is made up of lutein and zeaxanthin. The U.S. National Eye Institute’s AREDS2 study used 10 mg lutein plus 2 mg zeaxanthin per day; commercial products commonly follow this 5:1 ratio.
Daiken Biotech, Dietician Light Meals, Funai Biotech and EatBLISS all use a 5:1 lutein-to-zeaxanthin ratio; Puritan’s Pride provides 20 mg lutein but only 0.8 mg zeaxanthin per capsule; DHC’s ingredient list does not include zeaxanthin. If you want to supplement both, check whether the label lists the milligrams of zeaxanthin separately—if it only states “marigold extract (contains zeaxanthin)” you can’t tell how much is actually present.
Ingredients, Common Mistakes and Who It Suits at a Glance
- Ingredient comparison: The actual daily lutein across 10 products ranges from Brand’s at 5 mg to Yoho Power and Funai Biotech at 30 mg—a sixfold difference. EatBLISS, Daiken Biotech, Dietician Light Meals and Funai Biotech use a 5:1 lutein-to-zeaxanthin ratio; Puritan’s Pride and DHC are almost single-ingredient lutein products; Dietician Light Meals, Brand’s and Yoho Power additionally include anthocyanins or astaxanthin.
- Best for: Puritan’s Pride, DHC and Sentosa are single-ingredient or near single-ingredient lutein products costing NT$9.5–16 per day; Daiken Biotech and Dietician Light Meals follow the research-backed 10:2 lutein-to-zeaxanthin ratio; EatBLISS and Tian Di He Bu are made as beverages, so there’s no need to swallow capsules.
- Common mistakes: Comparing milligram numbers on packaging directly without checking whether the product is esterified or free-form, or whether the label refers to “per capsule” or “per 2 capsules.” Sentosa’s labeled 30 mg converts to 15 mg actual lutein, and the 10 mg in Dietician Light Meals requires taking 2 capsules to reach that amount; failing to convert leads to incorrect comparisons. Another frequent error is taking two lutein-containing products at once and exceeding the 30 mg daily limit.
FAQ
How much lutein should I take per day?
Is free-form lutein better than esterified lutein?
Should lutein be taken before or after a meal?
How long before lutein makes a noticeable difference?
Can lutein be taken together with fish oil?
Conclusion
Lutein is a fat-soluble nutrient and is better absorbed when taken with meals; if you also take multivitamins or other supplements that contain lutein, add the amounts together and keep the daily total below the Ministry of Health and Welfare’s upper limit of 30 mg. Eating more dark green vegetables like spinach and sweet potato leaves can also provide lutein from your diet. If you want to compare products further, you can visit EatBLISS, Daiken Biotech, and Sentosa’s official sites to compare ingredient labels and recommended daily amounts before deciding.
References
[2] Standards for the scope, limits, and specifications of food additive use: Lutein (Ministry of Health and Welfare, TFDA)
[3] Age-Related Eye Disease Studies (AREDS/AREDS2, U.S. National Eye Institute)
[4] Lutein — Government Gazette Information Network
[5] TQF Functional Food Quality Verification: Lutein Food Quality Specification Standards
[6] Survey on compliance of labeled lutein content in commercial capsule and tablet foods
[7] Lutein — National Taiwan University Hospital Pharmacy Department
[8] A study on eye disease prevention and lutein intake behavior
[9] Study on the efficacy of lutein and zeaxanthin for vision health